Fall Board Meeting Minutes

Day 1: September 20, 2023 – Virtual

Attendees

Board Members: L. King (Past President), C. Johnson (Treasurer); D. Albarracin (President) C. Pickett (President-Elect); K. Maddox (MAL Community/Diversity); Y. Huo (MAL, Education); L. Brown (MAL Primarily Undergraduate Institution); J. Bettergarcia (MAL, Outreach/Advocacy); V. Taylor (MAL, Science Programs); C. Crandall (MAL, Science Publications); K. Kahn (Division 8 Council Representative); S. Syropoulos (Student Committee Rep)

Guests: Debbie Ma (incoming Member at Large, Community and Diversity); Diana Sanchez (President-Elect); Garam Lee (Chair, Student Committee); Benjamin Blankenship (Early Career Committee)

Staff: R. Puffer; B. Riddleberger; C. Moore

Action Items

All votes are unanimous unless otherwise indicated.

- Approved Consent Agenda (Voting Item #1)
 - Interim Approvals Made via Electronic Vote
 - o Convention Task Force be created.
 - Approved Dan McAdams as the 2024 Constellation Program Honoree as presented by the Convention Committee.
 - Approved the revised Travel and Registration Award Program, Convention Registration Support.
 - o Approved the 2023 fellows.
 - o Approved the 2022 student publication awardees.
 - o Approved the 2024-2027 membership rates.
 - Approved the 2024 annual convention registration rates.
 - Minutes from the 2023 February Meeting
 - Revised Code of Conduct policy for the Board Policy Manual
 - 2023 awardees
- 2. Approved recommendations for adjusting our governance structure. (Voting Item #2 & #3, 1 abstain)
 - The Board of Directors members-at-large are restructured and no longer will have designated committee assignments
 - Board of Directors members-at-large would be elected based on strategic priorities for the year and skills/diversity required on the board
 - Each Board of Director member-at-large would be assigned to a committee at the beginning of their term as an ex-officio member
 - The Applied Committee and Primarily Undergraduate Institutions Committee would transition to our standard committee structure (6 member committee, in third year of service they serve as co-chairs, no longer chaired by a member of the board of directors)
 - Adjust the eligibility requirements for Board of Directors members-at-large to enable early career members to serve

- Transition the convention specific work of Professional Development Committee to the Convention Committee
- 3. Hold- 990 not completed yet (Voting Item #4)
- 4. Approved the changes to the SPSP Job Center, including increasing rates (Voting Item #5, 1 abstain)
- 5. Approved the SPSP Executive Director evaluation (Voting Item #6)

Day 2: October 4, 2023 - Virtual

Attendees

Board Members: L. King (Past President), C. Johnson (Treasurer); D. Albarracin (President) C. Pickett (President-Elect); K. Maddox (MAL Community/Diversity); Y. Huo (MAL, Education); L. Brown (MAL Primarily Undergraduate Institution); J. Bettergarcia (MAL, Outreach/Advocacy); V. Taylor (MAL, Science Programs); C. Crandall (MAL, Science Publications); K. Kahn (Division 8 Council Representative); S. Syropoulos (Student Committee Rep)

Guests: Debbie Ma (incoming Member at Large, Community and Diversity); Diana Sanchez (President-Elect); Garam Lee (Chair, Student Committee); Amber Gayle-Thalmayer (Past Co-Chair, International Committee); Rakoen Martens and Friedrich Götz (United Nations Task Force); Natalie Shook (Chair, Convention Committee); Jessica Remedios (Co-Chair, Diversity & Climate Committee); Mitch Prinstein (APA Chief Science Officer)

Staff: R. Puffer; B. Riddleberger; C. Moore; S. Waldron; M. Jester

Action Items

All votes are unanimous unless otherwise indicated.

- 1. Approved the Consent Agenda (Voting Item #6)
 - Additional 2023 Awardees
- Approved the UN Consultative Committee creation and the charter for the new committee (Voting Item #7)
- 3. Approved the recommendation to transition the 2025 virtual convention programming to "online highlights" vs a standalone convention experience (Voting Item #8)
- 4. Approved the 2026 & 2027 SPSP Annual Convention locations (Voting Item #9)
- 5. Approved proposed changes to the Diversity and Climate Committee convention events (Voting Item #10)
- 6. Approved the 2024 budget as proposed (Voting Item 11)