The SPSP Fundraising and Development Committee is excited to announce that Margo Monteith is the newest addition to the Heritage Wall, celebrating her immense contributions to personality and social psychology through research, mentorship, and collaboration.

We would also like to thank their colleagues and students, who have made this installation possible through their generous donations.

Dr. Monteith has received an array of awards in recognition of her research, which focuses on two main areas:

  1. The self-regulation of prejudice, countering the idea that there is little that can be done to prevent bias from influencing one's judgments and behavior.
  2. Interpersonal confrontation of bias, where one person calls out another's biased comments or behavior.

Dr. Monteith's contributions to these topics of study have improved our understanding of bias and how to mitigate its harmful effects.

Since 2021, Dr. Monteith has served as the inaugural Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the College of Health and Human Sciences at Purdue. She has also served in a variety of key editorial roles, working as an Associate Editor of Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin, Social Cognition, and Group Processes and Intergroup Relations. Dr. Monteith also held the role of Editor-in-Chief for Social Psychological and Personality Science from 2019-2023.

Learn more about Dr. Monteith by visiting our Heritage Wall page, where we have detailed her work and included reflections from his friends and colleagues.

The Heritage Fund Initiative was instituted to honor the legacy of our field's most important scholars, by providing a link between generations in personality and social psychology. Funds raised to honor the members of the Heritage Wall are used to support the Heritage Dissertation Research Award.

Additional donations to the Heritage program can be made here. Please indicate in the comment box which scholar (if any) your donation is intended to honor.

If you have a scholar you believe would be appropriate to honor on the Heritage Wall and are willing to champion the fundraising campaign, please contact the Fundraising Committee Co-Chairs, Kerry Kawakami and Kevin Lanning with the individual's name, and a short description of why you believe they deserve Heritage Wall status.