Application Deadline: Nov. 15, 2022

With the support of the SPSP Board of Directors, the editorial leadership team for Personality and Social Psychology Review seeks applications for an Editorial Fellowship position for psychologists from historically excluded groups. For this call, our particular focus is on scholars in Africa, the Middle East, and Latin America, as well as Indigenous scholars in any country. The Fellow will join an innovative, collaborative, and supportive editorial team as an Associate Editor for 12 months, beginning on Jan. 1, 2023. The position includes an honorarium stipend of $2,500 USD.

In service of SPSP's core values of innovation, rigor, diversity, and inclusiveness, this pilot fellowship program seeks to create a supportive pathway to editorial leadership for psychologists from communities that have been historically excluded from these roles. The goal of the fellowship is to identify and support someone who (1) is interested in editorial leadership, (2) wouldn't otherwise come into it at this moment in their career, and (3) may not have easy access to professional support systems that facilitate and support editorial experience and mentorship from centrally positioned scholars in the field.

Apply Here

Qualifications

The fellowship is open to candidates from historically excluded groups who have completed their PhD. Candidates may hold an academic or non-academic position. We are especially interested in candidates who are from and/or working in Africa, the Middle East, or Latin America, as well as Indigenous scholars in any country. It is also useful to bring an interdisciplinary scholarly perspective (either within different subfields of psychology or across disciplines), an investment in the future of the fields of personality and/or social psychology (broadly defined), and an interest in collaborating with the current editorial team on the development of manuscripts advancing theory.

Responsibilities

The Editorial Fellow will be a full-fledged member of the journal's senior editorial team (including Editor Jonathan Adler and Associate Editors Kathleen Bogart, Cindy Frantz, Phia Salter, and Amber Gayle Thalmayer). The Fellow will work closely with other members of the team to develop their editorial leadership skills. While serving as a full member of the editorial team, the Fellow will carry a 50% editorial load, handling 15-25 manuscripts per year with support and mentorship as needed from the senior editorial team. This process will include making initial decisions about whether a manuscript should go out for review, selecting peer reviewers, guiding manuscripts through the revision process, and making final editorial decisions.

The Fellow will also participate in regular senior editorial team meetings, which are held virtually every six weeks to facilitate team decision-making, oversight of journal processes and policies, and shared problem-solving. Due to the geographical locations of the current editorial team, meetings are held at a set time of day: 8:30 AM PST, 11:30 AM EST, 15:30 UTC, 17:30 CEST, 21.00 IST, 23.30 CST (to convert to other time zones from UTC, review them in list or map format). We realize this timing will not be reasonable for people in some regions of the world. Making future SPSP editorial fellowship calls suitable for different world regions will be a priority.

The Fellow will be credited as an Associate Editor on the journal masthead and, after successfully completing the fellowship, will have the support of the senior editorial team in identifying next steps toward editorial leadership.

How to Apply

Interested candidates should follow the link below before Nov. 15, 2022, to complete a short application that asks the following questions:

  1. What, if anything, has been a barrier to your participation as a decision-maker in the editorial process? (one paragraph or less)
  2. What would you personally gain by completing this fellowship? (one paragraph or less)
  3. Please briefly list any reviewing or editorial experience you have. Editorial experience is not a requirement, but we recommend having some reviewing experience.
  4. Please briefly list your areas of theoretical and methodological expertise (research areas, theoretical frameworks, methods used, etc.).
  5. Please briefly describe perspectives or experiences that you would bring to the senior editorial team that might be missing from this team or not well represented among editors in the field (for example, experience living or working in Africa, the Middle East, and Latin America; experience as an Indigenous scholar in any country).
  6. Please provide your CV.

The appointment will be made in December and the position will begin on Jan. 1, 2023.

If you have questions about the application or fellowship, please contact Jonathan Adler (PSPR Editor) at Jonathan.Adler@olin.edu and/or Alison Ledgerwood (SPSP Board Member for Publishing) at aledgerwood@ucdavis.edu.