Summer Board Meeting Minutes

August 15-16, 2020 Virtual

Attendees

Board Members: Rodolfo Mendoza-Denton (President); Linda Skitka (Past-President); Monica Biernat (President-Elect); Wendy Berry Mendes (Secretary-Treasurer); Collette Eccleston (MAL Application); Eli Finkel (MAL Outreach & Advocacy); Cynthia Pickett (MAL Education); Jarret Crawford (MAL Primarily Undergraduate Institution); Alison Ledgerwood (MAL Science Publishing); Denise Sekaquaptewa (MAL Science Programming)

Committee Co-Chairs:

Robin Edelstein (Convention Committee); Daryl Wout (Diversity and Climate Committee); Sarah Gaither (Early Career Committee); Jim Everett (Early Career Committee); Duane Wegener (Fellows Committee); Julie Norem (Fundraising/Development Committee); Melody Chao (International Committee); Kate Sweeny (Government Relations Committee); Alex Shoemann (Professional Development Committee); Fernanda Andrade (Student Committee); Mark Leary (Blog Editor); Kim Kahn (Division 8 Program Chair)

Staff: Rachel Puffer; Brian Riddleberger; Ryley Bowen; Rachel Bader; Annie Drinkard; Jan Kang

Action Items

All votes are unanimous unless otherwise indicated.

Day 1, August 15

- 1. Approved the minutes from the winter 2020 SPSP Board meeting as presented (voting item #1).
- **2.** Approved the interim approval decisions enacted by electronic vote since its last meeting (voting item #2).

APPROVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE	
June 5, 2020	Launch Emergency Bridging Grants with \$2500 allocated. Rudy allocated \$2500 of presidential
	discretionary funds to the emergency bridging grants.
June 3, 2020	Approval to cancel 2021 Austin Convention and launch Virtual 2021 Convention
APRPOVED BY THE ENTIRE BOARD OF DIRECTORS	
May 24, 2020	Approval to hire Rachel Puffer as Executive Director.

- 3. Approved the list of 2021 new committee members as submitted (voting item #3).
- 4. Approved the list of new Fellows as submitted (voting item #4).
- **5.** Approved that the Fellows Committee is expanded to 6 members (voting item #5; 7 approve, 2 oppose, 1 abstain).

- **6.** Approved the Early Career definition be changed from 3-years post Ph.D. to 6-years post Ph.D (voting item #6). The Board discussed the change and determined the final dues/registration rates will be determined as part of the 2022 budget process.
- 7. Further adjustments to the early career award structure and criteria need to be made. The Early Career Committee will take into account the discussion and prepare materials for the Boards approval at the 2021 winter meeting. The Board took the following motions (pending approval from SAGE).
 - a. Approved the current SAGE Young Scholar Award will be renamed the SAGE Early Career Trajectory Award;
 - b. Approved the removal of the stipulation that people be in a faculty position and instead base eligibility on the number of years since PhD;
 - c. Approved the expansion of how contributions to social and personality psychology are defined <u>individually and collaboratively</u>, including via research, teaching, open science, and service-related efforts (10 approve, 1 oppose)
 - d. Approved the creation of an additional award called the SAGE Emerging Scholar award (6 approve, 4 oppose, 1 abstain);
 - e. Did not approve the change of the number of recipients to 5 for the SAGE Young Scholar/Early Career Trajectory Award (5 approve, 3 oppose, 3 abstain);
 - f. A proposed motion was made and was not moved forward for a vote. The Awards committee will have the authority to determine the number of awardees in each category and amount of funds each awardee will receive from the \$40,000.
- **8.** Approved the Diversity & Climate Committee to have the authority to adjust items as necessary for the virtual SPUR program as long as they do not exceed the original \$40,000 budget (voting item #8; 8 approve, 3 oppose).

Adjourned at 3:27 pm

Day 2, August 16

- **9.** Approved the creation of a Primarily Undergraduate Institution standing Committee (voting item #10). The concept of a standing committee instead of task force was proposed because this has been a recurring issue and to create continuity. The committee will initially be chaired by the MAL.
- **10.** Approved the creation of an Applied standing Committee (new request). The committee will initially be chaired by the MAL.
- **11.** The maximum number of student publication awards will be 10% of the number of eligible articles with a \$100 honorarium provided to each awardee (voting item #11).
- **12.** Approved the list of student publication awardees as presented (voting item #12).
- **13.** Approved the revised data sharing policy as written for PSPB to incorporate the TOP Level II guidelines (new request). Additional discussion was had regarding the resources for implementing the guidelines.
- **14.** Approved the creation of a taskforce regarding equity within SPSP and the field (new request).

Adjourned at 1:49 pm